Grief isn’t just about some one dying!

Grief isn’t just about some one dying!

Grief and grieving are the natural response to a major loss and part of the healing process. But any type of loss can cause feelings of grief, sometimes when you least expect it.

shutterstock_156724085 - grief black ribbonHaving recently lost my fabulous Mum to cancer, I have realised that grieving is a very personal process with no time limit and no ‘right’ way to do it. However there are 5 recognised stages of grief:

  • Denial and isolation
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

There are many other situations in life that involve loss and although you may not expect to grieve when they happen, you will feel similar emotions and go through similar stages.

  • Divorce or breakup of a relationship can cause you to grieve for the future you had planned together.
  • Being made redundant can lead to grief over loss of your identity and financial security.
  • Many women grieve for a loss of independence after getting married or having a baby.
  • Even the ageing process and illness can cause feelings of loss for your physical ability and appearance.

So when you have had any sort of loss in your life, treat yourself kindly and allow the emotions of grief to be experienced so that you can heal naturally.

 Grief isn’t just about some one dying!

Similar Posts